Contact Us | Home   

The Lower Mississippi River Watershed Management Organization (LMRWMO) is located in the southeast part of the Twin Cities metropolitan area, in northern Dakota County and southern Ramsey County. The LMRWMO abuts the south and west sides of the Mississippi River, from the Mississippi River’s confluence with the Minnesota River to Rosemount. Adjacent watershed management organizations (WMOs) include Eagan-IGH WMO, Lower Minnesota River Watershed District, and the Vermillion River JPO.

The LMRWMO covers 35,493 acres (55.8 square miles) and is composed of seven cities partially or wholly within the organization’s boundaries. The LMRWMO member cities are: Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, Mendota Heights, St. Paul, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul. Surface water in the LMRWMO ultimately discharges to the Mississippi River.

Register for the Landscaping for Clean Water Program 

2011 Watershed Management Plan - 2015 Amendment

Watershed Restoration and Protection Study 

Self Guided Driving Tour

Thank You 2016 Water Quality Monitors!
The LMRWMO would like to thank Maya Levine, Anne Pfankuch, and Jon Libbey for their time and dedication to monitoring the water quality of Pickerel Lake, Lake Augusta, and Thompson Lake in 2016. Thank You!
Click Here to learn more about water quality monitoring within the LMRWMO.